Home » Nearly Ordained Cafe » The Case of the Disappearing Spaghetti Squash

The Case of the Disappearing Spaghetti Squash

Dinner last night was supposed to be the super healthy spaghetti squash and tomato sauce.  Sadly, when I got up from my computer to begin dinner preparations I found that the spaghetti squash I had purchased at the grocery had magically transformed into a butternut squash on the way home.  With a simple “Abracadabra,” poof the spaghetti squash disappeared!

Well, that might be a bit of a stretch.  The truth of the story goes a bit more like this:  I was so overjoyed to see the $1.99 price sticker on the squash I picked up the wrong kind.  The disappearing or transforming squash was more of a disappointment than a real dinner killer.  We did have some whole wheat pasta on hand so I just made a minor substitution and voila– dinner!

Now the real dilemma is what to do with the said butternut squash.  I could return it I guess, but I’m wondering if anyone has a recipe, preferably vegetarian, they would suggest instead.  If worst comes to worst, I’ll take it back, but hoping not to have to make another trip to the grocery anytime soon.

-Margaret

PS– if you haven’t ever tried spaghetti squash as pasta and are wondering how to cook it, Kitchen Treaty has a great tutorial with lots of pictures.  Its really very simple and I don’t think its a very noticeable change from pasta, especially if you use as much sauce as Caleb does.  [smile]

3 thoughts on “The Case of the Disappearing Spaghetti Squash

  1. Laura, Thanks for the suggestion. Do you have a specific recipe that you use or do you just kind of cook the squash down with some broth and herbs… I’m thinking rosemary would be a nice pairing… and then blend it all together? My mom also suggested that I add it to white chili which we have already frozen in our freezer so I might try that too.

Leave a Reply

