Home » Growing in Gratitude » Growing in Gratitude: Dawn

Growing in Gratitude: Dawn

Growing in Gratitude:  A weekly series on “Daily Musings on Life Together”
The psalmist wrote, “Sing a joyful noise to the Beloved all peoples of the earth!  Serve the Lord with a glad heart!  Join hands in the great Dance of Life!” (from Nan Merrill’s Psalms for Praying).  Join me in this dance each Monday as I practice
giving thanks for things big, small, tangible, and intangible.  Feel free to count your blessings in the comments.

6:45 am:  I’m sitting this morning at the window in our apartment that looks out on a bit of green space between the seminary and American University.    The morning chill seeps slightly through the window frame and I am bundled up in a sweatshirt to stay warm while I type.  The sun is risen, but because of all the buildings that surround our little yard it’s beams haven’t yet dried the dew off the grass.  Somewhere in the distance I hear the rumbling of construction vehicles, but in this early hour the noises of the city haven’t yet drowned out the morning tweets and twirls of the birds.  The world is waking.

8 am:  The sun is reaching the tops of the trees in our back yard now and highlights the slight breeze that is causing the leaves to just flutter.  The sun, the tree, and the wind dance together.  A robin red-breast hops along the ground chasing after a worm, I guess, while I crunch on my cereal.  I wonder if any of our other daily tasks will coincide.  When I make our bed will she feather her nest?  While I answer emails, will she call back and forth in conversation to the other birds?

8:45 am:  Appropriately a hymn drifts into my mind as I sip my coffee and observe this Earth Day breaking.

For the beauty of the earth, for the glory of the skies,
for the love which from our birth over and around us lies:
Lord of all, to Thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise.

For the beauty of each hour of the day and of the night, hill and vale and tree and flow’r, Sun and Moon and stars of light
Lord of all, to Thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise.

Gratitude for the gift of this created day and humility for the space I occupy in the grand plan overwhelms.  A quote printed in my calendar today reads:  “Most know the earth is utterly enchanted.”  Today I choose to be one of the most.

Today I am grateful for the dawn.

What are you thankful for?

-Margaret

Leave a Reply

