Home » His and Her's » His and Hers: Socks

His and Hers: Socks

His and Her’s: A weekly series on “Daily Musings on Life Together”

This morning I woke up and put on Caleb’s socks, which are frankly a lot like mine except a bit bigger and so understandably comfier.  My feet were cold and I missed him.  He is the muse for my musings.  [smile]

Caleb’s socks got me to thinking about one of the things I appreciate most about him– he makes me feel secure with the messiness of who I am.  In other words he loves my sweaty feet. Honestly, my feet sweat.  Not all the time, only when I’m nervous or hot or cold.  It’s always been something that has made me feel really insecure and it took me a long time to be able to laugh about it with my friends and family.  I was also really nervous about sharing this thing I don’t love about myself with Caleb, but Caleb being the awesome guy that he is instantly covered my insecurity with warmth and comfy love kind of like his socks.

One of the things I didn’t realize about marriage or falling in love before having embarked on the journey is that sharing in life together is a lesson in learning to love yourself in more honest ways.  I’m emboldened to share about my foot insecurity because Caleb has shown me that I am loveable even with sweaty feet.  The real joy of learning to love yourself more honestly is that it opens up the possibility to love others more honestly too.  Learning to love the messiness of others’ lives is what it means to proclaim the gospel.  I am so thankful for Caleb for teaching me that.

-Margaret

Leave a Reply

