Home » Weekend Musings » Escape to Roan Mountain

Escape to Roan Mountain

Roan Mountain, Tennessee

Roan Mountain, Tennessee

A week ago tomorrow, Caleb and I joined some new Kingsport friends (Ben, Emily, and their sweet girls Lily and Eden) for a Sunday afternoon hike on Roan Mountain.  Roan Mountain was a truly magical place.  It felt a lot like we were walking through the wardrobe and into Narnia.  After the wonderful experience of biking the Creeper Trail a few days earlier, I joked that it seems now that I’ve got my Tennessee license and am official I could visit all the special places in Appalachia.  [smile]

These pictures won’t do the landscape justice, but I must share them in the hopes that a bit of the beauty is evident.  I’ve now got it in my head that I must take our Christmas card photos up there in the beautiful wilderness.  Enjoy.

Lily leads the way into the Enchanted forest.

Lily leads the way into the Enchanted forest.

Caleb at the summit.

Caleb at the summit.

-Margaret

 

Leave a Reply

